ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on 8 May 2014

- PRESENT: Councillors Raymond Jones, Lewis Davies, R Dew, Jim Evans, John Griffith, D R Hughes, K P Hughes, Vaughan Hughes, Victor Hughes, W T Hughes, Llinos Medi Huws, A M Jones, Carwyn Jones, H E Jones, R.Meirion Jones, Richard Owain Jones, Jeffrey M.Evans, Alun W Mummery, R G Parry OBE, Dylan Rees, J A Roberts, Nicola Roberts, P S Rogers, Alwyn Rowlands and leuan Williams
- IN ATTENDANCE: Chief Executive, Corporate Director of Lifelong Learning, Corporate Director of Sustainable Development, Head of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer, Solicitor Corporate Governance (AP), Committee Officer (MEH).
- ALSO PRESENT: None
- APOLOGIES: Councillors Ann Griffith, T LI Hughes, R LI Jones and Dafydd Rhys Thomas.

1. CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED that Councillor Vaughan Hughes be elected Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2014/15.

In accepting the honour of being appointed, Councillor Hughes promised the Council that he would carry out the duties involved to the best of his abilities. He also took the opportunity of paying tribute to the retiring Chairperson, Councillor Gwilym O. Jones for his commitment in representing the County Council throughout his term of office.

Councillor Gwilym O. Jones, the retiring Chairperson, thanked all the members and officers of the Council for their support and co-operation during his term of office. He also gave a synopsis of his duties as Chairperson which involved representing the County Council at various functions throughout the year. Councillor Jones also wished to thank the retiring Vice-Chairperson, Councillor Raymond Jones for his support throughout this term of office. He expressed his best wishes to Councillor Vaughan Hughes and hoped he would enjoy a happy and successful term of office as Chairperson of the County Council.

2. VICE-CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED that Councillor Jim Evans be elected Vice-Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2014/15.

Councillor Jim Evans thanked the members for their confidence in him. He expressed his intention to co-operate with and support the newly elected Chairperson.

3. TO RECEIVE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRPERSON, LEADER OF THE COUNCIL OR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE.

None.

4. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None to declare.

5. DELEGATION BY THE LEADER/MEMBERSHIP OF THE EXECUTIVE

In accordance with Paragraph 4.1.1.2 of the Constitution, the Leader of the Council named the following as the members he had chosen to serve on the Executive, together with their Portfolio responsibilities :-

Councillor Ieuan Williams (Leader) Councillor J. Arwel Roberts	-	Portfolio Holder for Education Portfolio Holder for Planning & Environment
Councillor K.P. Hughes	-	Social Services & Housing
Councillor Aled M. Jones	-	Economic Development, Tourism & Leisure
Councillor H. Eifion Jones	-	Finance
Councillor Richard A. Dew	-	Highways, Property & Waste Management
Councillor Alwyn Rowlands	-	Executive Business Manager, Performance Transformation, Corporate Plan & Human Resources

6. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON OF THE DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE FOR 2014-15

RESOLVED to appoint Councillor Vaughan Hughes as Chairperson of the Democratic Services Committee in accordance with paragraph 3.4.12.3 of the Constitution.

7. CONFIRMATION OF THE SCHEME OF DELEGATION

RESOLVED to confirm such part of the Scheme of Delegation as the Constitution determines it is for the Council to agree (as set out in Paragraph 3.2 of the Constitution).

8. CONFIRMATION OF COMMITTEES

The Chairperson confirmed the re-appointment of the Committee structure as referred to in Section 3.4 of the Council's Constitution, together with the following :-

- Pay and Grading Panel (a sub-committee of the County Council)
- Standards Committee Appointments Panel
- Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education
- Special Educational Needs Joint Committee
- Indemnities Sub-Committee

9. PROGRAMME OF ORDINARY MEETINGS OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

RESOLVED to approve the programme of Ordinary Meetings of the County Council for the ensuing year :-

9 October, 2014	-	2.00 p.m.
4 December, 2014	-	2.00 p.m.
26 February, 2014	-	2.00 p.m.
7 May, 2014	-	2.00 p.m. (Annual Meeting) (may need to change due to Parliamentary Election

The meeting concluded at 3.00 p.m.

COUNCILLOR VAUGHAN HUGHES CHAIR